“SLUGA NARODU“’S TRIUMPRH, KERNES FIASCO: ELECTION’S RESULTS IN THE KHARKIV REGION | Center for Political Analysis “Observatory of Democracy”

“SLUGA NARODU“’S TRIUMPRH, KERNES FIASCO: ELECTION’S RESULTS IN THE KHARKIV REGION

The previous material, which analyzed the course of the election campaign in 7 districts of Kharkiv, stated: out of many candidates, the real contenders for victory are the “Kernes nominees”, owners of the “Sluga Narodu” party franchise, as well as point-acting people’s deputies in conflict with the mayor.

The key question that arose after election’s day: what happened in two weeks, what did the situation turn into a total triumph of the “Sluga Narodu” from a parity state with a slight advantage of the acting people’s deputies?

The main hypothesis: in the last phase of the campaign, Volodymyr Zelenskyi used the favorite weapon of Gennadiy Kernes – public “pressure” of officials, and this technology hit the “top ten” electoral expectations. The all-Ukrainian round of “good king – bad boyars” gave its result in the Kharkiv region: the ratings of all owners of the pro-presidential franchise automatically grew, and only 2 of the 14 existing people’s deputies stood. And one of them – Oleksandr Feldman – certainly does not belong to the Kernes team.

Additional hypothesis: one of the decisive factors was the media activity of the “Opozytsiina Platforma – Za Zhyttia (Opposition’s Platform – For Life)” party, which, thanks to “Inter”, “112” and “Newsone”, leveled down all the growth trends of the “Opposition Bloc”, winning the specific game for the “Party of Regions” electoral inheritance. And the presence in the ballots, even a little-known candidate from “OP – Za Zhyttia”, had “eaten” 10-20% from people’s deputies – ex-members of the Party of Regions.

In the last two weeks, the Opposition Bloc “finished off” – “The Party of Sharia” arranged a vivid expansion in the same electoral field (nominal voters of Yevgen Muraiev, which are, on average, younger and more “urbanized” of Yuriy Boyko voters, and it was the first who took the party project of Anatoliy Sharia).

VOTING FOR PARTIES – 3rd PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION TOUR

1st round of presidential elections (03/31/2019) Parliamentary elections (07/21/2019)*
Volodymyr Zelenskyi 36,41% 482,5 thous. “Sluga Narodu” 42,74% 435,5 thous.
Yuriy Boiko 26,58% 352,2 thous. “OP – Za Zhyttia” 26,55% 270,6 thous.
Petro Poroshenko 8,52% 112,9 thous. “ES” 4,95% 50,4 thous.
Oleksandr Vilkul 7,47% 99,1 thous. “ОppoBloc” 7,77% 79,3 thous.
Yulia Tymoshenko 7,35% 97,5 thous. “Batkivschyna” 3,56% 36,3 thous.

* after processing 99.76% of Election Commission protocols.

Only three party brands in the Kharkiv region scored more than 5% of the vote. At the same time, the results of the party election practically repeated the voting in the first round of the presidential election (especially for the pairs of Boiko – “OP-Za Zhyttia” and Vilkul – “OppoBlock”).

That is, the presence of Gennadiy Kernes in the top five (and, therefore, in the ballot) of the list of the “Opposition Bloc” de facto added very little to the result of the party brand. Although, for the “Opposition Bloc”, the Kharkiv region is become the second one in the intra-party rating of the regions after Donetsk (10.9%). For example, in Odessa, with which it is natural to draw parallels due to the similarity of the roles of mayors of the regional centers Gennadiy Kernes and Gennadiy Trukhanov, the result turned out to be less than 5% of the threshold (4.87% – although direct extrapolation to local elections is irrelevant here) .

For “OP-Za Zhyttia”, our region also turned out to be one of the basic ones – the 3rd result in percent (after Donbass) and the 1st in absolute values ​​of votes (at the time of counting 94% of votes – almost on par with the Donetsk region). Traditionally, the maximum result (34.9%) of the “Party of Regions” electoral successors was recorded in the 176th district (center – Chuguiv). But even here, the “Sluga Narodu” gained more (39.8%), although in the first round of presidential elections it was the only district in the region where Volodymyr Zelenskyi lost to Yuriy Boiko.

The electoral map of the “Sluga Narodu” party in this election is also similar to the presidential election maps – political force won in all regions except Donbass (as in the first round, where Boiko won more votes in Donetsk and Lugansk regions) and the Lviv region (the only region in which in the second round Poroshenko won). The percentage of “Sluga Narodu”  support in the Kharkiv region (42.6%) is almost identical to the total in Ukraine (43.1%). And it was these 40% + of the party rating that made possible the triumph of the candidates “Sluga Narodu” in 12 of the 14 districts of the region.

VOTING FOR CANDIDATES – TRUST THE BRAND

The dispersion of the results of the candidates-winners from the pro-presidential force varies from 37% to 50%. The champion became Oleksii Kucher, who, without having a special connection to the 179th district, declassified the permanent deputy of the district Anatoliy Girshfeld, and the head of the Regional council Sergiy Chernov. At the same time, the majority of “urban” candidates (except Victoria Kinzburska) surpassed the results of their own party, i.e. managed not only to identify with the maximum efficiency with the popular subject of the nomination, but also to bring a personal rating (especially Oleksandr Kunytskyi, who clearly played into the hand of the epic “non-dismiss”). We should also pay tribute to Andrii Odarchenko and Yuriy Zdebskyi, who, according to sociological surveys, still conceded to their opponents a couple of weeks before the election day.

In the districts of the region, the support of the “Sluga Narodu” was even higher, and even without a 100% efficiency rating, 6 out of 7 candidates won in the election. The lowest results are for those winners, who are frankly difficult to call “new faces, who have never been in power” – the odious deputy mayor of Merefa and the ex-mayor of Balakleia from the “Party of Regions”, the current head of the district council (district No. 181 and No. 178, respectively).

District Candidate % candidate % party Difference
168 Mezentseva Maria 41,52 36,13 +5,39
169 Kunytskyi Oleksandr 47,99 37,88 +10,11
170 Odarchenko Andriy 44,41 39,17 +5,24
171 Kinzburska Victoria 37,62 38,80 -1,18
172 Zdebskyi Yuriy 43,61 39,51 +4,1
173 Bakumov Oleksandr 45,92 40,04 +5,88
174 Alekseichuk Victoria 33,16* 40,18* -7,02
175 Pivivarov Evgen 43,95 49,25 -5,3
176 Schyslionok Oleksandr 29,14 39,84 -10,7
177 Liubota Dmytro 40,27 44,31 -4,04
178 Lytvynov Oleksandr 31,60 44,84 -13,24
179 Kucher Oleksii 50,42 50,65 -0,23
180 Krasov Oleksii 43,67 52,88 -9,21
181 Mykysha Dmytro 38,06 46,30 -8,24

* at the time of writing, 93% of Election Commission protocols in this district were processed.

“All happy families are equally happy …” – taking into account the almost universal campaign strategy of all the “majoritarian” candidates from the pro-presidential force, perhaps those two districts that for the Kharkiv team “Sluga Narodu” became a “a fly in the ointment” are of more interest.

In the 176th district, Oleksandr Schyslionok (29%) conceded to the candidate from the “Opposition Bloc” Dmytro Shentsev (44%), and here, probably, the main reason lies in the peculiarities of electoral geography. Shentsov himself had held the systematic work in the district, and since 2012 has reasonably considered it as his patrimony, but this is not very different, for example, from Volodymyr Katsuba, who lost in the 175th district to Evgen Pivovarov. But the 176th district itself with its center in Chuguiv is special: it is the border stronghold of everything conservative and pro-Russian, here in 2014 Mykhailo Dobkin defeated Petro Poroshenko, and in 2019, Yuriy Boyko won against Volodymyr Zelenskyi. There is no other such district in the Kharkiv region, and therefore it naturally became an exception from the general Ze-trend.

As for the 174th district, Oleksandr Feldman, who was first elected here to the Verkhovna Rada, was able to resist with a minimal margin, thanks to the strength of his own name, and to some favorable circumstances. Surprisingly, Oleksandr Tkachenko from the mayor’s team eventually became Feldman’s competitor – he used the Ze-style in the campaign, and in his total 12% there was certainly a share of those voters, who sincerely believed that Tkachenko represented the President’s party. The second circumstance is the technical candidate Anastasia Akimova, the manager of the ALC “Sluga Narodu”, who also “bit off” her 3% from the real candidate Victoria Alekseychuk from “Sluga Narodu”. The third, and possibly decisive, circumstance is the timely removal of the candidate from “OP-Za Zhyttia” Igor Shram (if other people’s deputies in their constituencies managed to achieve similar removals – their chances would increase, and, for example, Viktor Ostapchuk in the 177th district probably would win).

VOTING AT PARLIAMENTARY – EXPECTATIONS AT LOCAL

In the Kharkiv region, as well as in Ukraine as a whole, a bloodless electoral revolution took place, and it is awaited to be realized. The strategy of identification with Volodymyr Zelenskyi turned out to be the strongest, than the local administrative resource, the tactics of the “good deeds” of the acting people’s deputies, and most importantly, their identification with the mayor Kernes. The results of candidates from the Kernes team, who were not active deputies in their constituencies – Oleksandr Granovskyi (15.88%), Oleksandr Tkachenko (12.57%) and Volodymyr Zolotariov (12.72%), are demonstrative.

The case with the 171st district and Zolotariov Jr. is especially significant, because in the elections of 2014 he also ran in this district (as a non-party nominee from Sergii Tigipko “Sylna Ukraina” that was already striving to zero) and scored 12.56%. Thus, now neither the brand of the Opposition Bloc, nor identification with Gennadiy Kernes added anything to the result of five years ago.

However, although the “magic of identification” with Kernes has ceased to operate, his personal mayor rating is still high. But the word “uncontested” is no longer appropriate to apply – for sure, in all the upcoming surveys, Kharkiv sociologists will interest, what percentage of Kharkiv citizens are ready to support the mayoral candidate of the “Sluga Narodu”, whoever he or she is. The question is whether Volodymyr Zelenskyi will decide on a “complete reboot” of regional political regimes or a “common denominator” in the person of Igor Kolomoiskyi will push for the division of spheres of influence according to the principle of “Kharkiv to Kernes, Kernes’ loyalty to Zelenskyi”.

In addition, traditionally in Ukraine, election results are not just a marker, but also a criterion for the dismissal / appointment of heads of regional administrations. While his positions in Kyiv are being held (for how long?) by Arsen Avakov, the head of the Kharkiv Regional State Administration probably is still Yulia Svetlichna. During a recent visit to the Kharkiv region, Volodymyr Zelenskyi noted that he was looking for “adequate managers”, and for the clarifying question about Vadym Sliusarev he answered negative, but not categorically. However, after the triumph of the local team “Sluga Narodu” and the personal candidates-creatures of Sliusarev (Odarchenko, Zdebskyi, Pivovarov, Kucher), it can be assumed that his position on this issue has been significantly strengthened.

Anton Avksentiev, PhD in Political Science

Center for Political Analysis “Observatory of Democracy”

Published on the informational and analytical portal “Hvylya”

The paper was prepared under the project «Promoting Democratic Elections in Eastern Ukraine», with the support of the National Endowment for Democracy (NED). The content of the publication does not necessarily reflect the views of the NED and is the sole responsibility of Center for Political Analysis “Observatory of Democracy”.

© 2017 АНАЛIТИЧНИЙ ЦЕНТР «ОБСЕРВАТОРІЯ ДЕМОКРАТІЇ» Все права защищены. Цитирование информации с этого сайта разрешается при условии обязательной ссылки

Триумф «Слуги Народа», фиаско Кернеса: итоги выборов в Харьковской области | АНАЛИТИЧЕСКИЙ ЦЕНТР «ОБСЕРВАТОРИЯ ДЕМОКРАТИИ»

Триумф «Слуги Народа», фиаско Кернеса: итоги выборов в Харьковской области

В предыдущем материале, в котором анализировался ход избирательной кампании в 7-ми округах Харькова, констатировалось: из множества кандидатов реальными претендентами на победу являются «выдвиженцы Кернеса», обладатели партийной франшизы «Слуги Народа», а также точечно действующие нардепы, конфликтующие с мэром.

Ключевой вопрос, который возник уже после дня выборов: что случилось за две недели, что из паритетного состояния с небольшим преимуществом действующих нардепов ситуация превратилась в тотальный триумф «Слуги Народа»?

Основная гипотеза: в последней фазе кампании Владимир Зеленский воспользовался излюбленным оружием Геннадия Кернеса – публичным «прессингом» чиновников, и эта технология попала «в десятку» электоральных ожиданий. Всеукраинский тур «хороший царь – плохие бояре» дал свой результат и в Харьковской области: рейтинги всех обладателей пропрезидентской франшизы автоматически выросли, и только 2 из 14-ти действующих нардепов устояли. Причем один из них – Александр Фельдман – уж никак не относится к команде Кернеса.

Дополнительная гипотеза: одним из решающих факторов стала медиа-активность партии «ОП-За Життя», которая благодаря «Интеру», «112» и «Newsone» нивелировала все тенденции роста «Оппозиционного Блока», выиграв внутривидовую борьбу за электоральное наследство «Партии Регионов». А присутствие в бюллетене пусть и малоизвестного кандидата от «ОП-За Життя» «съедало» у нардепов-экс-регионалов 10-20%.

Ну а «добила» «Оппозиционный Блок» в последние две недели – «Партия Шария», устроив яркую экспансию на том же электоральном поле (условные избиратели Евгения Мураева, в среднем, моложе и «урбанизированнее» избирателей Юрия Бойко, и именно первых забрал партийный проект Анатолия Шария).

Голосование за партии – 3-й тур президентских ВЫБОРОВ 

1 тур президентских выборов (31.03.2019) Парламентские выборы (21.07.2019)*
Владимир Зеленский 36,41% 482,5 тыс. «Слуга Народа» 42,74% 435,5 тыс.
Юрий Бойко 26,58% 352,2 тыс. «ОП — За Життя» 26,55% 270,6 тыс.
Петр Порошенко 8,52% 112,9 тыс. «ЕС» 4,95% 50,4 тыс.
Александр Вилкул 7,47% 99,1 тыс. «ОппоБлок» 7,77% 79,3 тыс.
Юлия Тимошенко 7,35% 97,5 тыс. «Батьківщина» 3,56% 36,3 тыс.

* после обработки 99,76% протоколов УИК.

Только три партийных бренда в Харьковской области набрали более 5% голосов избирателей. При этом результаты по партийной части практически повторили голосование в 1 туре президентских выборов (особенно у пар Бойко — «ОП-За Життя» и Вилкул — «ОппоБлок»).

То есть присутствие Геннадия Кернеса в первой пятерке (а, значит, и в бюллетене) списка «Оппозиционного Блока» де-факто очень мало добавило к результату партбренда. Хотя Харьковская область для «Оппозиционного Блока» стала второй во внутрипартийном рейтинге регионов после Донецкой (10,9%). К примеру, в Одесской, с которой естественно проводить параллели из-за сходства ролей мэров областных центров Геннадия Кернеса и Геннадия Труханова, результат оказался и вовсе менее 5%-го барьера (4,87% — хотя прямая экстраполяция на местные выборы тут неуместна).

Для «ОП-За Життя» наш регион также оказался одним из базовых – 3-й результат в процентах (после Донбасса) и 1-й в абсолютных величинах голосов (на момент подсчета 94% голосов – практически вровень с Донецкой областью). Традиционно максимальный результат (34,9%) у электоральных правопреемников «Партии Регионов» зафиксирован в 176-м округе (центр — Чугуев). Но даже здесь «Слуга Народа» набрала больше (39,8%), хотя в первом туре президентских это был единственный округ в области, где Владимир Зеленский проиграл Юрию Бойко.

Электоральная карта партии «Слуга Народа» на этих выборах также подобна президентским картам – политсила победила во всех регионах, кроме Донбасса (как и в первом туре, когда в Донецкой и Луганской областях больше голосов набрал Бойко) и Львовской области (единственный регион, в котором во втором туре выиграл Порошенко). Процент поддержки СН в Харьковской области (42,6%) практически идентичен совокупному по Украине (43,1%). И именно эти 40%+ партийного рейтинга сделали возможным триумф кандидатов «Слуги Народа» в 12-ти из 14-ти округах региона.

Голосование за кандидатов – доверяй бренду

Разброс результатов кандидатов-победителей от пропрезидентской силы – от 37% до 50%. Рекордсменом стал Алексей Кучер, который, не имея особой привязки к 179-му округу, деклассировал и бессменного нардепа округа Анатолия Гиршфельда, и главу облсовета Сергея Чернова. При этом большинство «городских» кандидатов (кроме Виктории Кинзбурской) превзошли результаты собственной партии, т.е. сумели не только с максимальным КПД отождествиться с популярным субъектом выдвижения, но и привнести личный рейтинг (особенно это удалось Александру Куницкому, которому явно сыграла на руку эпопея с «недоснятием»). Стоит также отдать должное Андрею Одарченко и Юрию Здебскому, которые, судя по социологическим замерам, еще за пару недель до дня выборов уступали своим оппонентам.

В округах области поддержка «Слуги Народа» была еще выше, и даже без 100%-го КПД отождествления с ней 6 из 7-ми кандидатов победили. Самые низкие результаты у тех победителей, которых откровенно сложно назвать «новыми лицами, никогда не пребывавшими во власти» — заместителя одиозного мэра Мерефы и экс-мэра Балаклеи от «Партии Регионов», действующего главы районного совета (округа №181 и №178 соответственно).

Округ Кандидат % кандидата % партии Разница
168 Мезенцева Мария 41,52 36,13 +5,39
169 Куницкий Александр 47,99 37,88 +10,11
170 Одарченко Андрей 44,41 39,17 +5,24
171 Кинзбурская Виктория 37,62 38,80 -1,18
172 Здебский Юрий 43,61 39,51 +4,1
173 Бакумов Александр 45,92 40,04 +5,88
174 Алексейчук Виктория 33,16* 40,18* -7,02
175 Пивоваров Евгений 43,95 49,25 -5,3
176 Счислёнок Александр 29,14 39,84 -10,7
177 Любота Дмитрий 40,27 44,31 -4,04
178 Литвинов Александр 31,60 44,84 -13,24
179 Кучер Алексей 50,42 50,65 -0,23
180 Красов Алексей 43,67 52,88 -9,21
181 Микиша Дмитрий 38,06 46,30 -8,24

* на момент написания статьи было обработано 93% протоколов УИК по этому округу

«Все счастливые семьи счастливы одинаково…» – с учетом практически универсальной стратегии кампании всех «мажоритарщиков» от пропрезидентской силы, пожалуй, больший интерес представляют те два округа, которые для харьковской команды «Слуги Народа» стали ложкой дёгтя в бочке мёда.

В 176-м округе Александр Счислёнок (29%) уступил кандидату от «Оппозиционного Блока» Дмитрию Шенцеву (44%), и тут, вероятно, главная причина кроется в особенностях электоральной географии. Сам Шенцев вёл системную работу в округе и с 2012 года резонно рассматривал его как свою вотчину, но этим он мало отличается, например, от Владимира Кацубы, проигравшего в 175-м округе Евгению Пивоварову. А вот сам 176-й округ с центром в Чугуеве – особенный: это приграничный оплот всего консервативного и пророссийского, здесь в 2014 году Михаил Добкин побеждал Петра Порошенко, а в 2019-м – Юрий Бойко выигрывал у Владимира Зеленского. Другого такого округа в Харьковской области нет, и потому он закономерно стал исключением из общего Зе-тренда.

Что касается 174-го округа, то впервые избранный здесь в ВРУ Александр Фельдман смог устоять с минимальным перевесом как благодаря силе собственного имени, так и некоторым благоприятным обстоятельствам. Как ни странно, таковым в итоге стал конкурент Фельдмана из команды мэра Александр Ткаченко – он в кампании использовал Зе-стилистику, и в его итоговых 12% наверняка есть доля тех избирателей, которые искренне поверили, что Ткаченко представляет партию Президента. Второе обстоятельство – технический кандидат Анастасия Акимова, менеджер ТДВ «Слуга Народа», которая также свои 3% «откусила» у настоящей выдвиженки «Слуги Народа» Виктории Алексейчук. Третье, и возможно, решающее обстоятельство – своевременное снятие кандидата от «ОП – За Життя» Игоря Шрама (если бы другим нардепам в своих округах удалось добиться аналогичных снятий – их шансы бы повысились, а, например, Виктор Остапчук в 177-м округе наверняка бы выиграл).

Голосование на парламентских – ожидание местных

В Харьковской области, как и в целом в Украине, состоялась бескровная электоральная революция, осознать которую еще предстоит. Стратегия отождествления с Владимиром Зеленским оказалась сильнее всего – локального админресурса, тактики «добрых дел» действующих нардепов, и главное, их отождествления с мэром Кернесом. Показательны результаты кандидатов из команды Кернеса, которые не были действующими депутатами в своих округах – Александра Грановского (15,88%), Александра Ткаченко (12,57%) и Владимира Золотарева (12,72%).

Кейс с 171-м округом и Золотаревым-младшим особенно характерен, ведь на выборах 2014 года он также баллотировался в этом округе (в качестве беспартийного выдвиженца от уже стремящейся к нулю «Сильной Украины» Сергея Тигипко) и набрал 12,56%. Таким образом, сейчас ни бренд «Оппозиционного Блока», ни отождествление с Геннадием Кернесом ничего не добавили к результату пятилетней давности.

Однако, хотя «магия отождествления» с Кернесом и перестала действовать, его личный мэрский рейтинг пока что остается высоким. Но вот слово «безальтернативный» применять уже некорректно – наверняка, во всех ближайших замерах харьковских социологов будет интересовать, какой процент харьковчан готовы поддержать кандидата в мэры от «Слуги Народа», кем бы он ни был. Вопрос в том, решится ли Владимир Зеленский на «полную перезагрузку» региональных политических режимов или «общий знаменатель» в лице Игоря Коломойского подтолкнет к делению сфер влияния по принципу «Кернесу – Харьков, Зеленскому – лояльность Кернеса».

И еще – традиционно в Украине результаты выборов являются не просто маркером, но и критерием для увольнения/назначения глав областных администраций. Пока свои позиции в Киеве удерживает (надолго ли?) Арсен Аваков, главой Харьковской облгосадминистрации, вероятно, остается Юлия Светличная. А Владимир Зеленский во время недавнего визита в Харьковскую область отметил, что ищет «адекватных менеджеров», и на уточняющий вопрос о Вадиме Слюсареве ответил отрицательно, но не категорично. Однако после триумфа местной команды «Слуги Народа» и персонально кандидатов-креатур Слюсарева (Одарченко, Здебский, Пивоваров, Кучер), можно предположить, что его позиции в этом вопросе существенно усилились.

Антон Авксентьев, кандидат политических наук,

Аналитический центр «Обсерватория демократии».

Опубликовано на информационно-аналитическом портале «Хвиля»

Материал подготовлен в рамках проекта «Promoting Democratic Elections in Eastern Ukraine», реализуемого при финансовой поддержке Национального фонда в поддержку демократии (NED). Содержание публикации не обязательно отражает точку зрения NED и является предметом исключительной ответственности Аналитического центра «Обсерватория демократии».