Educational reform and formation of civic competence: discussion in Kramatorsk | Center for Political Analysis “Observatory of Democracy”

Educational reform and formation of civic competence: discussion in Kramatorsk

On March 29, in Kramatorsk, in the Anti-Crisis Media Center a discussion on the topic “Educational reform and formation of civic competence” took place, conducted by the Center for Political Analysis “Observatory of Democracy” with financial support of the European Endowment for Democracy (EED) and the Government of Canada. Experts, representatives of public associations and the media participated in discussing the specifics of the implementation of educational reform at the national and regional levels (on the example of the Donetsk region).

Educational reform: opportunities and limitations

Expert of the Center for Political Analysis “Observatory of Democracy” Svetlana Topalova within her report focused attention on three key issues:

  • tools and opportunities for the formation of civic competence, which contains the Law of Ukraine “On Education”;
  • tasks and needs of civic education for the front-line region;
  • dynamics of educational reform introduction at the level of Donetsk region.

The Law of Ukraine “On Education”, according to Svetlana Topalova, provides only certain theoretical principles necessary for the formation of civic competence. In particular, it contains a list of competencies that pupils must possess: first of all, understanding of the content of civil rights, principles of democracy, justice, equality. Meanwhile, the process of formation of civic competencies presupposes the presence of two interrelated components: disciplines, the purpose of which is to provide the necessary theoretical knowledge and, not least, the environment for their practical application.

It is the lack of an appropriate environment and relevant conditions for the formation and acquirement of civic competence skills that is one of the main obstacles to the effective implementation of the tools of civic education provided for by the Law of Ukraine “On Education”, the expert concluded.

For the front-line region, underlined Svetlana Topalova, the problem of civic education is particularly crucial, considering the following factors:

  • “Post-Soviet” state of regional political consciousness of the inhabitants of the front-line region, which, certainly, is transformed, but mostly remains “archaic”.
  • Donetsk region has the largest number of internally displaced people – about 530 thousand people. And exactly those internally displaced people, according to the expert, are an important resource for reintegration, since they can become the bearers of democratic values in the liberated territories.
  • At present, the number of pupils who want to receive Ukrainian education increases in uncontrolled territories. There are already 5 basic schools (in Kramatorsk, Mariupol, Slavyansk, Bakhmut, Pokrovsk), where separate distance education classes for students from uncontrolled territories have been created. This, according to Svetlana Topalova, is also an important resource for reintegration, which can and should be used now.

At the Donetsk region level, the expert noted, the main components of the educational reform implementation are the Draft Regional Program “Education of the Donetsk region in European Dimension for 2017-2020”. The main steps of its first stage are the performing of an educational experiment on the training of first-graders in a new methodology, the creation of an inclusive educational environment and the creation of pivotal schools.

The sphere of the educational institution functioning, where the reform has not started yet at all, according to the expert’s conclusions is the introduction of students’ self-government. According to Svetlana Topalova, not only in Ukrainian schools, but also in universities the traditions of self-government and an adequate idea of its essence are absent.

The analysis of information on self-government on the websites of schools, Svetlana Topalova said, demonstrated that its represented model is the executive bodies subordinate to the administration, which in most cases are called ministries. However, at the same time, it is precisely this set of executive bodies that, in addition to ensuring the implementation of plans, are given “powers” to petition the administration, is called a “system of self-government bodies”.

Resuming her report, Svetlana Topalova highlighted the following specific problems of the Donetsk region in the process of implementing the educational reform:

  • The riskiness of establishing and investing pivotal schools in populated areas near the line of demarcation (in the “gray zone”);
  • Separation of some cities and towns into parts by a line of demarcation (this creates the problem of forming an educational district, ensuring the territorial accessibility of the pivotal school);
  • The need for strengthened ideological work, concentration of attention on Ukrainian studies subjects and civic education in the front-line region, in order to reduce the influence of the ideology of the “Russian world”;
  • The need for creation of distance learning centers for pupils from uncontrolled territories, willing to take the External Independent Testing in Ukraine, and enter Ukrainian universities. These centers are being already created, including on the basis of pivotal schools, but still they require the allocation of additional finances.

Formation of civic competence: what should be the practical steps?

The questions and comments of the participants of the discussion centered primarily on practical steps aimed at building civic competence. Alena Kucheruk, a representative of coworking “FreeUA – creative space”, spoke about her own experience and an attempt to change the approach to education as a whole through the development of school entrepreneurship. However, she added, the main problem is that at present this process is carried out “blindly”. Therefore, in her opinion, there is a big demand for analytical materials that would study similar experience of other countries and, based on this, offer the most effective tools for Ukraine.

Alain Kucheruk also noted that one of the difficulties she faced in the process of introducing school entrepreneurship is the “closedness” of schools. In most cases, she specified, in order to conduct at least mini-training at school, it is necessary to collect an abundance of different permits.

Marina Nedoruba, the head of the non-governmental organization “Anti-Crisis Media Center” drew attention to an equally important problem. According to her, there is a significant demand for a civic education for teachers either, who, she added, lack the creative potential, even despite the increase in wages. On the other hand, Marina Nedoruba emphasized, in part the parents themselves, who perceive the teacher as an employee “who must” (teach their child to read, count, etc.), and not as a bearer of certain values, are also responsible for the present state of affairs.

Commenting on this issue, Viktoria Shevchuk, Director of the Analytical Center “Observatory of Democracy”, defined the basic institutional and value principles of civic education. According to her, the main features of the citizen, on the one hand are freedom and the ability to defend it, and on the other – the willingness to take responsibility. The modern Western educational system and the system of state institutions, on the whole, are focused precisely on maintaining this balance of freedom and responsibility.

Svetlana Topalova, answering to the question of Marina Nedoruba, noted that indeed, we can state the presence of a certain “tacit consent” between teachers and parents to resist the formation of civic skills and competencies among schoolchildren. However, in her opinion, it is important to appeal specifically to an active, critically thinking parental minority. This active parental community must become the main initiator of change and a source of pressure on teachers and school administrators.

Published on the portal “Gromadsky Prostir”

The discussion was held within the framework of a project implemented with the financial support of the European Endowment for Democracy (EED) and the Government of Canada

Реформа образования и формирование гражданской компетентности: дискуссия в Краматорске | АНАЛИТИЧЕСКИЙ ЦЕНТР «ОБСЕРВАТОРИЯ ДЕМОКРАТИИ»

Реформа образования и формирование гражданской компетентности: дискуссия в Краматорске

29 марта в Краматорске в «Антикризисном медиа-центре» состоялась дискуссия на тему «Реформа образования и формирование гражданской компетентности», проведенная Аналитическим центром «Обсерватория демократии» при финансовой поддержке Европейского фонда за демократию (EED) и Правительства Канады. В обсуждении особенностей внедрения образовательной реформы на национальном и региональном (на примере Донецкой области) уровнях приняли участие эксперты, представители общественных объединений, СМИ.

Образовательная реформа: возможности и ограничения

Эксперт Аналитического центра «Обсерватория демократии» Светлана Топалова в своем докладе сосредоточила внимание на трех ключевых вопросах:

  • инструменты и возможности для формирования гражданской компетентности, которые содержит Закон Украины «Об образовании»;
  • задачи и потребности гражданского образования для прифронтового региона;
  • динамика внедрения образовательной реформы на уровне Донецкой области.

Закон Украины «Об образовании», по словам Светланы Топаловой, прописывает лишь отдельные теоретические принципы, необходимые для формирования гражданской компетентности. В частности, он содержит перечень компетенций, которыми должны обладать школьники: это, в первую очередь, понимание содержания гражданских прав человека, принципов демократии, справедливости, равенства. Между тем, процесс формирования гражданских компетенций предполагает наличие двух взаимосвязанных составляющих: дисциплин, цель которых — предоставить необходимые теоретические знания и, что не менее важно, среды их практического применения.

Именно отсутствие надлежащей среды и соответствующих условий для формирования и усвоения навыков гражданской компетенции — одно из главных препятствий для эффективной реализации инструментов гражданского образования, предусмотренных Законом Украины «Об образовании», резюмировала эксперт.

Для прифронтового региона, подчеркнула Светлана Топалова, проблема гражданского образования особенно острая, учитывая следующие факторы:

  • «Постсоветское» состояние регионального политического сознания жителей прифронтового региона, которе, безусловно, трансформируется, однако преимущественно остается «архаичным».
  • Донецкая область имеет наибольшее количество ВПО — около 530 тыс. человек. И именно переселенцы, по словам эксперта — важный ресурс реинтеграции, которые могут стать носителями демократических ценностей на освобожденных территориях.
  • На данный момент на неподконтрольных территориях увеличивается количество учеников, которые хотят получить украинское образование. Уже работают 5 базовых школ (в Краматорске, Мариуполе, Славянске, Бахмуте, Покровске), где созданы отдельные классы дистанционного образования для учащихся с неподконтрольных территорий. Это, по словам Светланы Топаловой — также важный ресурс реинтеграции, который можно и необходимо задействовать уже сейчас.

На уровне Донецкой области, отметила эксперт, главные составляющие внедрения образовательной реформы содержит Проект региональной программы «Образование Донетчины в европейском измерении 2017-2020 гг.». Основные шаги ее первого этапа — проведение образовательного эксперимента по обучению первоклассников по новой методике, создание инклюзивной образовательной среды, создание опорных школ.

Сфера функционирования учебного заведения, которой реформирование не коснулось вообще, согласно выводам эксперта — внедрение самоуправления. По словам Светланы Топаловой, не только в украинских школах, но и университетах отсутствуют как традиции самоуправления, так и адекватное представление о его сущности.

Анализ информации по самоуправлению на сайтах школ, рассказала Светлана Топалова, продемонстрировал, что его представленная модель — это подчиненные администрации исполнительные органы, которые в большинстве случаев названы министерствами. Однако при этом, именно подобная совокупность исполнительных органов, которые, помимо обеспечения выполнения планов, наделены «полномочиями» ходатайствовать перед администрацией, называется «системой органов самоуправления».

Подводя итоги, Светлана Топалова выделила следующие специфические проблемы Донецкой области в процессе внедрения реформы образования:

  • Рискованность создания опорных школ и вложения в них финансов в населенных пунктах вблизи линии разграничения (в «серой зоне»);
  • Разделенность некоторых городов и поселков на части линией разграничения (это создает проблему формирования образовательного округа, обеспечения территориальной доступности опорной школы);
  • Необходимость усиленной идеологической работы, концентрации внимания на украиноведческих предметах и гражданском образовании в прифронтовом регионе, для того чтобы уменьшить влияние идеологии «русского мира»;
  • Необходимость создания центров дистанционного обучения для школьников с неподконтрольных территорий, готовых сдавать ВНО в Украине, и поступать в украинские вузы. Эти центры создаются, в том числе на базе опорных школ и требуют выделения дополнительных финансов.

Формирование гражданской компетенции: какими должны быть практические шаги?

Вопросы и комментарии участников дискуссии касались в первую очередь практических шагов, нацеленных на формирование гражданской компетенции. Алена Кучерук, представитель коворкинга «FreeUA — креативное пространство», рассказала о собственном опыте и попытке изменить подход к образованию в целом путем развития школьного предпринимательства. Однако, добавила она, главная проблема заключается в том, что пока этот процесс осуществляется «вслепую». Поэтому, по ее мнению, существует большой запрос на аналитические материалы, которые бы изучали подобный опыт других стран и, исходя из этого, предлагали наиболее эффективные инструменты для Украины.

Алена Кучерук также рассказала, что одна из сложностей, с которой она столкнулась в процессе внедрения школьного предпринимательства — это «закрытость» школ. В большинстве случаев, отметила она, для того чтобы провести хотя бы мини-тренинг в школе, необходимо собрать множество различных разрешений.

Глава общественной организации «Антикризисный медиа-центр» Марина Недоруба обратила внимание на не менее важную проблему. По ее словам, существует значительный запрос на гражданское образование для учителей, которым, добавила она к тому же, не хватает творческого потенциала, даже несмотря на повышение заработной платы. С другой стороны, подчеркнула Марина Недоруба, частично ответственность за существующее положение вещей несут и сами родители, которые воспринимают учителя как работника, «который должен» (научить их ребенка читать, считать и т.д.), а не как носителя определенных ценностей.

Комментируя этот вопрос, директор Аналитического центра «Обсерватория демократии» Виктория Шевчук определила базовые институционально-ценностные принципы гражданского образования. По ее словам, основные черты гражданина, с одной стороны – свобода и умение ее отстаивать, а с другой — готовность брать на себя ответственность. Современная западная образовательная система и система государственных институтов, в целом, ориентированы именно на поддержание этого баланса свободы и ответственности.

Светлана Топалова в ответ на вопрос Марины Недорубы отметила, что действительно, можно констатировать наличие определенного «молчаливого согласия» между учителями и родителями сопротивляться формированию гражданских навыков и компетенций у школьников. Однако, по ее мнению, важно апеллировать именно к активному критически мыслящему родительскому меньшинству. Эта активная родительская общественность и должна стать основным инициатором изменений и источником давления на учителей и администрации школ.

Опубликовано на портале «Громадський простір»

Дискуссия проведена в рамках проекта, реализуемого при финансовой поддержке Европейского Фонда за Демократию (EED) и Правительства Канады