Educational reform and formation of civic competence: discussion in Izyum | Center for Political Analysis “Observatory of Democracy”

Educational reform and formation of civic competence: discussion in Izyum

On April 10, in Izyum, in Izyum Regional Center of Professional Education a discussion on the topic “Educational reform and formation of civic competence” took place, conducted by the Center for Political Analysis “Observatory of Democracy” with financial support of the European Endowment for Democracy (EED) and the Government of Canada. Experts, teachers, methodologists, representatives of public associations, government bodies and local self-government participated in the event to discuss the specifics of the process of the education system reforming and the formation of civic competence as one of the key tasks of the reform implementation.

Alexander Solovei, deputy director for teaching and production work at the Izyum Regional Center for Professional Education, in the opening remarks congratulated participants of the discussion and described the peculiarities of academic work as well as educational and professional opportunities offered by the institution represented.

During the discussion, experts of the Center for Political Analysis “Observatory of Democracy” Svetlana Topalova and Vitaly Nosachov presented the results of the analysis of the educational reform implementation at the levels of Kharkiv region and Izyum district.

The Law of Ukraine “On Education”: tools and opportunities for forming a citizen?

The report of Svetlana Topalova was devoted to the tools and opportunities for the formation of civic competence, provided by the new Law of Ukraine “On Education”. According to her, this law should launch a systemic education reform. Nevertheless, at present ideologists of the educational reform and experts mainly focus on the expected positive effects from the implementation of the concept of the “New Ukrainian School”, stated by the Law, for future first-graders, leaving out prospects for children who are already studying.

That is why, Svetlana Topalova stressed, it is important to understand what opportunities the law gives for changes in the educational process and in the life of the educational institutions currently, which ways for building the civic competence among today’s students are offered, and what are the possible ways to accelerate the implementation of educational reform.

The expert said that the Law of Ukraine “On Education” provides for the introduction of a competence approach, which includes not only the process of obtaining the necessary theoretical knowledge, but also acquiring practical skills important for modern life. Therefore, the special importance for the effective process of introducing educational reform gains the necessity to form an appropriate environment for the practical application of the acquired skills.

In this regard, Svetlana Topalova noted, the problem of the establishment of the pupils’ self-government institution arises, it should become a practical tool that provide pupils with the opportunity to apply civic competence skills, to feel the practical benefits of civic education “in action”. According to the expert, the Law of Ukraine “On Education” provides an opportunity for each institution to develop its own model of self-government, which, certainly, is a positive result. However, she added, the main problem is that now among pupils, parents and teachers there is even a lack of understanding of the true functions and purpose of the institution of self-government. The most common ideas about self-government are limited to executive functions – “to fulfill the instruction or orders of teachers/administration”.

In conclusion the expert noted that in the current state Ukrainian educational institutions do not fulfill the mission of forming civic competence, education of a literate citizen, voter, etc. Therefore, the tools and opportunities provided by the Law of Ukraine “On Education” only outline certain initial steps to “correct” this situation.

Educational reform in Kharkiv region: the leading direction – inclusive education

Analyzing the process of reforming the education system of Kharkov region, Svetlana Topalova first of all singled out the experiment of teaching first-graders according to the method of LEGO, which in 2017/18 academic year was started by the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine in 100 Ukrainian schools. In Kharkiv region, 4 school educational institutions joined the experiment of the teaching under the New Ukrainian School program, where pupils will study in accordance with the pedagogical system that uses models of the real world and simultaneously creates an object-playing environment for the learning and development of the child.

According to the expert, Kharkiv region has been quite actively connected to the development of inclusive school education. Svetlana Topalova noted, in the issue of ensuring conditions for the full-scale implementation of educational reform, this is the exact sphere, where the greatest progress is being made. The work on creating conditions for teaching children with disabilities is carried out in two directions: reconstruction in existing schools and construction of new schools, taking into account the conditions necessary for organizing an inclusive educational space.

The weakest place of educational reform introduction, the expert summarized, traditionally remains the sphere of pupils’ self-government. The results of the research of sites of 30 schools of Kharkiv and regional centers of the region, sites of lyceums and gymnasiums of Shevchenko district of Kharkov testify to the weakness and ineffectiveness of the existing bodies of pupils’ self-government, she added. In most cases, on the website the section “student self-government” contains only diagrams illustrating the structure of governments, photos and a list of projects involving “bodies of student self-government,” and not their work plans and reports on the work performed during the past academic years.

The education system of Izyum: state and possibilities for development

Vitaly Nosachov presented the main conclusions of the research on monitoring the current state of the education system in Izyum. To clarify the main directions of the schools’ activities in the implementation of the educational reform, he explained, information was analyzed on the websites of all general education schools in the Izyum district (16 schools in total).

The purpose of the study, according to Vitaly Nosachev, was to follow the changes in the sphere of forming the civic competence of pupils. The implementation of Article 30 of the Law of Ukraine “On Education” was also monitored, paragraph 3 of which provides for the need to publish estimates on the websites and a financial report on the receipt and use of all funds received.

Although democracy according to European principles should begin with the school, as was emphasized by Vitaly Nosachov, the results of the analysis demonstrated the following trends:

  • the purely formal approach of educational institutions to the issue of informing the public about their activities (for example, only 2 of the studied school sites contain information on self-government and provide financial reports);
  • the list of school subjects did not change in the direction of supplementing with civic disciplines; submitted plans for educational work do not actually reflect civic and legal topics;
  • educational institutions do not have a system of effective self-government bodies; according to the published information it can be concluded that the work on the development of the model of school self-government did not begin.

Realities of civic education in Ukraine: conservatism and lack of “driving force”

Commenting on the theses of experts, the deputy chairman of the Izyum district state administration, Vasily Lesik, expressed his vision of the problem. In his opinion, to argue that Ukrainian educational institutions do not contain methods for civic education and upbringing – it is not entirely appropriate, all of that is designed and written in programs. In this situation, Vasily Lesik underlined, it is worth considering that education is the most conservative system and this factor complicates the way of its reforming.

Dmitry Stukalenko, a deputy of the Izyum city council, agreed with this thesis, emphasizing that especially schools are not only conservative, but also dependent on the administration. Also, in his opinion, when we compare the Ukrainian realities with the European experience, it is worth regarding that in Western countries the principle “a person respects the law and the law respects a person” works. In addition, he highlighted the lack of a “driving force” that would actively promote changes in the educational system. Even the parents’ councils, he remarked, are an advisory body that does not have financial responsibility.

According to Alexei Polyak, a deputy of the Kharkiv regional council, the state as a whole has no general vision of the ultimate goals of education. This, in his opinion, leads to intellectual migration of Ukrainians abroad.

Alexander Solovei, deputy director for teaching and production work at the Izyum Regional Center for Professional Education, commented on the experts’ thesis about the lack of sufficient civic and legal subjects in the curricula and plans for educational work. According to him, another equally important problem arises here, namely, the effective use of those hours that are already allocated for this work. Alexander Solovei noted that now there is even a reserve of hours, but there is no opportunity to spend them profitably (one could conduct a “school of leaders”, “school of social activity”, etc.).

The teacher of the Izyum Regional Center for Professional Education Natalya Volodina added that special attention should be paid to out-of-school education, because now the young people have no alternatives for the useful spending of leisure time.

Agreeing with comments and remarks, in this context, Svetlana Topalova noted that an important aspect of this problem is that children do not see a connection between what they are studying and do not understand why they need it. That is why educational work should be aimed at explaining not only the basic principles, but also the benefits of civic education.

Published on the portal “Gromadsky Prostir”

The discussion was held within the framework of a project implemented with the financial support of the European Endowment for Democracy (EED) and the Government of Canada

Реформа образования и формирование гражданской компетентности: дискуссия в Изюме | АНАЛИТИЧЕСКИЙ ЦЕНТР «ОБСЕРВАТОРИЯ ДЕМОКРАТИИ»

Реформа образования и формирование гражданской компетентности: дискуссия в Изюме

10 апреля в Изюме в Изюмском региональном центре профессионального образования состоялась дискуссия на тему «Реформа образования и формирование гражданской компетентности», проведенная Аналитическим центром «Обсерватория демократии» при финансовой поддержке Европейского фонда за демократию (EED) и Правительства Канады. В мероприятии по обсуждению особенностей процесса реформирования системы образования и формирования гражданской компетентности как одной из ключевых задач внедрения реформы приняли участие эксперты, преподаватели, методисты, представители общественных объединений, органов государственной власти и местного самоуправления.

Во вступительном слове участников дискуссии поздравил Александр Соловей, заместитель директора по учебно-производственной работе ГОЗ «Изюмский региональный центр профессионального образования», рассказав об образовательных и профессиональных возможностях, предлагаемые заведением, и особенностях его учебной работы.

В ходе дискуссии эксперты Аналитического центра «Обсерватория демократии» Светлана Топалова и Виталий Носачов представили результаты анализа внедрения образовательной реформы на уровнях Харьковской области и Изюмского района.

Закон Украины «Об образовании»: инструменты и возможности для формирования гражданина?

Доклад Светланы Топаловой был посвящен инструментам и возможностям для формирования гражданской компетентности, предусмотренные новым Законом Украины «Об образовании». По ее словам, этот закон должен запустить системную реформу образования. Тем не менее, пока идеологи образовательной реформы, эксперты преимущественно акцентируют внимание на ожидаемых позитивах от реализации Концепции «Новой украинской школы», предусмотренной Законом для будущих первоклассников, оставляя без внимания перспективы для детей, которые уже учатся.

Именно поэтому, подчеркнула Светлана Топалова, важно разобраться, какие возможности дает действующий закон для изменений в учебном процессе и в жизни учебного заведения уже сейчас, какие предлагает пути формирования гражданской компетенции среди сегодняшних учеников, какие существуют возможные пути ускорения внедрения образовательной реформы.

Эксперт рассказала, что Законом Украины «Об образовании» предусмотрено внедрение компетентностного подхода, который включает не только процесс получения необходимых теоретических знаний, но и овладение важными для современной жизни практическими навыками. Поэтому особое значение для эффективного процесса внедрения образовательной реформы приобретает необходимость формирования соответствующей среды для практического применения полученных навыков.

В связи с этим, отметила Светлана Топалова, возникает проблема становления института самоуправления в качестве практического инструмента, который должен предоставить учащимся возможность применить навыки гражданской компетенции, почувствовать практическую пользу гражданского образования «в действии». По словам эксперта, Закон Украины «Об образовании» предоставляет возможность для каждого учреждения разработать собственную модель самоуправления, что, конечно, является положительным моментом. Однако, добавила она, главная проблема заключается в том, что сейчас среди учеников, родителей и учителей отсутствует даже понимание подлинных функций и назначения института самоуправления. Привычные представления о самоуправлении ограничиваются исполнительными функциями — «выполнить поручение или указания учителей/администрации».

Подводя итоги доклада, эксперт отметила, что в существующем состоянии украинские образовательные учреждения не выполняют миссии формирования гражданской компетентности, воспитания грамотного гражданина, избирателя и т.д. Поэтому инструменты и возможности, предусмотренные Законом Украины «Об образовании», только намечают определенные начальные шаги для «исправления» этой ситуации.

Образовательная реформа на Харьковщине: в лидерах — направление инклюзивного образования

Анализируя процесс реформирования системы образования Харьковской области, Светлана Топалова в первую очередь выделила эксперимент обучения первоклассников по методике LEGO, который в 2017/18 учебном году был начат Министерством образования и науки Украины в 100 украинских школах. На Харьковщине к эксперименту обучения по программе Новой украинской школы присоединились 4 школьные учебные заведения, где ученики будут учиться в соответствии с педагогической системой, которая использует модели реального мира и одновременно создает предметно-игровую среду для обучения и развития ребенка.

По словам эксперта, Харьковская область достаточно активно подключилась к развитию инклюзивного школьного образования. По мнению Светланы Топаловой, в вопросе обеспечения условий для полномасштабного внедрения образовательной реформы именно в этой сфере наблюдается наибольший прогресс. Работа по созданию условий для обучения детей с ограниченными возможностями осуществляется в двух направлениях: проведение реконструкции в действующих школах и строительство новых школ с учетом условий, необходимых для организации инклюзивного учебного пространства.

Самым слабым местом внедрения образовательной реформы, резюмировала эксперт, традиционно остается сфера ученического самоуправления. Результаты исследования сайтов 30-ти школ Харькова и районных центров области, сайтов лицеев и гимназий Шевченковского района Харькова свидетельствуют о слабости и неэффективности существующих органов ученического самоуправления, добавила она. В большинстве случаев на сайтах в разделе «ученическое самоуправление» присутствуют только схемы, иллюстрирующие структуру органов самоуправления, фотографии и перечень проектов, в которых участвуют «органы ученического самоуправления», а не планы их работы и отчеты о работе за прошедшие учебные годы.

Система образования Изюмщины: состояние и возможности для развития

Виталий Носачов представил основные выводы исследования по мониторингу современного состояния системы образования Изюмщины. Для выяснения основных направлений деятельности школ по внедрению образовательной реформы, пояснил он, была проанализирована информация на сайтах всех общеобразовательных учебных заведений Изюмского района (всего 16 учебных заведений).

Цель исследования, по словам Виталия Носачева, заключалась в том, чтобы проследить изменения в сфере формирования гражданской компетентности учащихся. Также был проведен мониторинг выполнения статьи 30 Закона Украины «Об образовании», пункт 3 которой предусматривает необходимость публикации на веб-сайтах сметы и финансового отчета о поступлении и использовании всех полученных средств.

Хотя демократия согласно европейским принципам должна начинаться со школы, как подчеркнул Виталий Носачов, результаты анализа продемонстрировали следующие тенденции:

  • сугубо формальный подход учебных заведений к вопросу информирования общественности о своей деятельности (например, только 2 из исследуемых сайтов школ содержат информацию о самоуправлении и предоставляют финансовые отчеты);
  • перечень школьных предметов не изменился в сторону дополнения граждановедческими дисциплинами; представленные планы воспитательной работы фактически не отражают гражданскую и правовую тематику;
  • учебные заведения не имеют системы действенных органов самоуправления; согласно опубликованной информации можно сделать вывод о том, что работа по разработке модели школьного самоуправления не началась.

Реалии гражданского образования в Украине: консерватизм и отсутствие «движущей силы»

Комментируя тезисы экспертов, заместитель председателя Изюмской районной государственной администрации Василий Лесик, высказал свое видение проблемы. По его мнению, утверждать, что украинские учебные заведения не содержат методик по гражданскому воспитанию и образованию — не совсем уместно, все это разработано и прописано. В этой ситуации, подчеркнул Василий Лесик стоит учитывать, что образование — это наиболее консервативная система и именно данный фактор усложняет путь ее реформирования.

С этим тезисом согласился Дмитрий Стукаленко, депутат Изюмского городского совета, подчеркнув, что особенно школы — не только консервативные, но и зависимые от администрации. Также, по его мнению, когда мы сравниваем украинские реалии с европейским опытом, стоит учитывать, что в западных странах действует принцип «человек уважает право и право уважает человека». Кроме этого, важной проблемой он выделил отсутствие «движущей силы», которая бы активно продвигала изменения в образовательной системе. Даже родительские советы, заметил он — это совещательный орган, который не имеет финансовой ответственности.

По словам Алексея Поляха, депутата Харьковского областного совета, у государства в целом нет общего видения конечных целей образования. Это, по его мнению, приводит к интеллектуальной миграции украинцев заграницу.

Александр Соловей, заместитель директора по учебно-производственной работе Государственного образовательного заведения «Изюмский региональный центр профессионального образования» прокомментировал тезис экспертов об отсутствии достаточного объема гражданской и правовой тематики в учебных планах, планах по воспитательной работе. По его словам, здесь возникает еще одна не менее важная проблема, а именно — эффективное использование тех часов, которые уже отведены на эту работу. Александр Соловей отметил, что сейчас есть даже резерв часов, но нет возможностей потратить их с пользой (можно было бы провести «школу лідера», «школу общественной активности» и т.д.).

Преподаватель ГОЗ «Изюмский региональный центр профессионального образования» Наталья Володина добавила, что особое внимание следует уделять и внешкольному образованию, поскольку сейчас молодежь не имеет альтернатив для полезного проведения досуга.

Соглашаясь с замечаниями и комментариями, в этом контексте Светлана Топалова отметила, что важный аспект данной проблемы — дети не видят связи между тем, что они изучают, и не понимают, зачем это им нужно. Именно поэтому воспитательная работа должна быть направлена на объяснение не только основных принципов, но и преимуществ гражданского образования.

Опубликовано на портале «Громадський простір»

Дискуссия проведена в рамках проекта, реализуемого при финансовой поддержке Европейского Фонда за Демократию (EED) и Правительства Канады